My alternative to expensive blending tools…

Posted: July 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

I really like the Tim Holtz blending pads and the pads are reasonable but buying multiple tools just isn’t cost effective and well I would rather use that money on other Tim Holtz goodies 😉

So I went to Hobby Lobby and bought a dowel rod that was 1′ diameter and 36′ long ($3.59)

My awesome husband cut it at 3′ pieces which gave me 12 (you could cut them smaller or larger depending on the comfort fit)

I had some Velcro which to each side

I now have 12 Blending tools with 24 blending pads for all my ink pads

20140714_182554_resized

 

20140714_182647_resized

 

As I use the pads I will write the color on each end, so I don’t get them mixed up.

 

I’m still working on a way of storing these, at the moment I emptied one of my containers I kept for jewelery supplies, this works for the time bing and I even have enough room to add my mini distress pads.

 

20140714_183235

20140714_183312

Have a good day and I hope I save someone some money 🙂

Comments
  1. I think it’s a great way to save money. It’s too bad I don’t use these distress inks, only reinkers. But of course, I think it’s a very good idea for those who do. It would also be useful for adding felt for AIs.

  2. Aimeslee W. says:

    You are a genius! Love it! xoxo

Leave a Reply

