Metallic Frame and Pebeo fun

Posted: November 5, 2014 in Mixed Media

A few months back Marjie Kemper’s Compendium of Curiosities 3 Challenge #7 reached out and grabbed me I found the perfect picture frame, grabbed up my metallic tape (I just love that stuff) borrowed all my friend Boo’s embossing folders and set about having fun.

I finished this frame weeks ago, actually I made two. I hadn’t decided what to do with them, both of them were just sitting there waiting for the inspiration of what to put into it. Well that day finally came. This past weekend Plaza Art had their annual Hands On Creativity weekend and I got to play with the new Pebeo paints using a mini gesso board sample as my canvas (I wish I could have made a larger one) But size aside (no comments from the peanut gallery) I started by just adding blobs of different colors on my canvas stirred it together added more color stirred some more until I was happy with my look, since we live in Clarksville and Plaza is in Nashville, I had to take it home with me instead of leaving it to dry and picking it up the next day so we dumped it on a paper plate and prayed the whole way  home, besides a  bit of drimpi9ng on the sides it made it home safely and in one piece.

Again I had another piece of art I wasn’t sure what to do with, until I looked up and seen the picture frame and being the genius that I am came up with an idea.

Here is the picture frame I made. You can find the details on how I made this on Marjie Kemper’s Blog HERE.

Pebeo Framed

Metalic Frame Flower

Metalic Frame Flower 2

Metalic Frame Close Up

This is what my art looked like before I stamped it. I could have done a design using the liner paint, but I have to tell you some of my favorite actually most of my favorite pieces of art are playful messes.

Pebeo canvas mini

After Adding on of my Favorite Tim Holtz stamps.

MEtalic Frame

I sprayed it with a clear coat, because I can’t use glass in the frame I wanted to protect it.

I used a flash on the first picture, that is the reason for the more vibrant bright color on the first picture.

For my fellow Recycle artists, the background isn’t metal tape, it is actually the inside of a Vick’s Puffs Kleenex box. I never throw them away, and this worked out perfect as I don’t have the lines from the tape. Think twice before you throw things away sometimes it makes the perfect piece of art later on.

HAVE A GREAT DAY!

Hope you enjoyed and maybe mine will inspire you as Marjie’s inspired me 🙂

Comments
  1. When I first saw the title of your post, I thought “what the heck is a pebeo? Glad you explained it’s paint. Yep, I live in a closet.

    I was having a conversation with my friend Sally today, where I told her that bloggers could now apply for admission to CHA. The first qualification was there must be at least 1000 visits per week, which was not a problem, especially if I’m to accept the google stats they give me. BUT, you must post at least once a month using industry approved products. I told Sally that was one of the reasons I don’t try to apply to magazines. You have to name the products you use, which of course, I do, anyway. But, I also don’t use industry products, I use things like my handmade shimmering mists, or something found in her trash can, or my neighbor’s dumpster. So I guess I’ll continue to live in the closet for the rest of my blogging career (grin).

    Great frame. Love the embellishing folders. And of course, I adore that HVAC tape, too. I haven’t used mine in a LONG time.

  2. marjiekemper says:

    Thanks for the mention, Theresa. Your frame is fantastic. Now I want to get some metal and play again!

Leave a Reply

